2023 Outstanding Doctoral Research Awards (ODRA) – Applications Open!


Take part in the 2023 Outstanding Doctoral Research Awards (ODRA) – a joint doctoral research award co-run by Emerald Publishing, a leading digital-first publisher, commissioning, curating, and showcasing research that can make a real difference, and EFMD.

The winner will receive a cash prize of £1,000, a certificate, and an interview opportunity on the Emerald website. In addition, they will work directly with our partners, Editage, to create a bespoke engaging research summary. The two award runners-up receive a certificate and a published interview on the Emerald website.



The 2023 ODRA is open to anyone who has completed their doctorate in the last three years and whose research covers at least one of the following areas that contribute to a more responsible world:

  • Responsible leadership
  • UN SDG-related issues for responsibility
  • Food poverty and security
  • Sustainable supply chains
  • CSR and greenwashing
  • Reducing inequality
  • Responsible and ethical marketing
  • Innovative, responsible management
  • Social responsibility
  • Responsible economics
  • Curriculum development in responsible management
  • Responsible management knowledge transfer partnerships

The closing date for the application is extended to 10 October 2023, and the entries will be judged based on four criteria:

  • Originality and innovation
  • Appropriateness and application of the methodology
  • Quality of data/research
  • Significance/implications for theory and practice

Additional details on the 2023 ODRA can be found on our awards page or by visiting here. The application form is available here.

EFMD and Emerald Publishing are proud to champion fresh thinking and support the work of doctoral students whose research on responsible management can create a positive impact on a local and global scale.

“I feel equally honoured and humbled to have been recognised for my work. It is a recognition of what I had set out to achieve with my PhD. I am grateful to the organisers of this award programme and the judging panel for acknowledging my contribution to responsible management and achieving Sustainable Development Goals.”

Vanessa Sofia Melo Magalhães, University of Coimbra, Portugal — a 2022 ODRA winner.

Check out more from the winners and highly commended recipients of the 2022 ODRA.